Starting to Walk Again

Yesterday was 3 weeks since my cast removal and approximately 9 weeks since surgery. I was super excited to be able to finally put weight on my foot and start  my process of relearning how to walk again after so long. Thankfully, the injury site did not hurt at all and had no discomfort. However, I discovered the anterior (front) part of my ankle hurts when my leg bends over my foot when moving forwards. I am assuming that this is a result of my ankle not being used for so long and is only temporary. My range of motion is improving with each passing day and I feel optimistic that I will be able to walk without the aid of crutches soon.

Last Tuesday I went to my first PT appointment and there was no pain when the foot was moved around, only some expected stiffness. Swelling is minimal now and doesn’t bother me anymore when my foot is not elevated. Overall, I am very happy with my recovery journey so far and am looking forward to the day when the screws are removed so I can properly farewell this injury that will hopefully never happen again 🙂

Thanks for reading!

– Zoe

Leave a Reply

